Tiffany Cameron touching base from Germany: Ich bin zurück!

Let me start off with a very personal message I wrote to myself back in April.

My mission

It has been a few years since I have been a constant member of the Canadian Women’s National Team, so it was a lot more challenging to get offered a contract in a top league. In my case, a tryout was required if I wanted to get offered a contract to play back in the Frauen Bundesliga; which is arguably the best league in the world for women’s soccer alongside of the NWSL. I’ve played in both leagues and I enjoy the European style of play more, but the NWSL is a great league as well and I would love to play back in that league within the next year or two.  Needless to say, it feels damn good to be back in Germany playing for Borussia Mönchengladbach for the 2016/2017 season!

NTPM5638

The first week of preseason was tough, but also enjoyable. The entire team welcomed me with open arms and I was really excited about how many of my teammates and coaching staff could speak and understand English. This has made my transition onto the team easy. Although language is not as big of a barrier as it was in my previous experience playing in Germany two years ago, I will be learning deutsche through an online course called Rosetta Stone. One of my goals is to be able to fluently speak the language by the time my season ends next year.

cheers

Special thanks to the Canadian Sport Institute of Ontario who hooked me up with Rosetta Stone.

Off the field, I’ve enjoyed hanging out with my new roommate and new teammates. Although Germany lost against France in the semi finals of the Euro Cup, I enjoyed watching the game with a few of my teammates and ended up in a German National Team jersey hahaha!

 

germany game

The summer here in Germany hasn’t been as nice as the summer I recently experienced in Canada, but my roommate, a couple of her friends and I were able to catch a beautiful day by a public swimming pool near our apartment.

my roommate and I cropped

Stay tuned for my blog post next week! I have some more exciting news to share about the near future!

Guten tag Kanada!

Guten abend Deutschland!

Herzliche Glückwünsche Portugal!

euro 2016 champs

 

 

Leave a Reply

