Tiffany Cameron’s Ten Biggest Career Moments: Both Good and Bad

I’m going to switch things up and present to you the most personal blog post I’ve ever published. It is important that both my fans and doubters see that even though I am living my dream, I have been faced with ups and downs along the way. Everyone goes through trials and tribulations in life and some people reach their goals quicker than others. Everything takes time. I rather go through absolute hell at first and grow as a person and athlete, than have everything handed to me. Below are some of my realist moments as an athlete.

  1. June 06, 2013 Canada vs. United States
June 6, 2013 Canada vs. United States

June 6, 2013 Canada vs. United States

I’ve played in a World Cup before at the age of 16, but it still doesn’t compare to the experience I had playing in Toronto in front of over 22, 000 fans at 22-years-old. I’ll never forget when John Herdman told me I was going in the game with 30 minutes left. I almost had a heart attack because I ate a lot of HUMBLE pie before the game expecting that I probably wouldn’t go in because I was considered a ‘newbie’ with the Senior Women’s National Team and it was such a huge game. Boy was I wrong! The first half we defended our asses off to keep it 0-0 and ended up losing against The United States 0-3. It was rough, but I was happy I was able to make a difference offensively. I remember getting a beautiful cross in with a tremendous amount of pace and miss hitting it and blowing my opportunity to score. A few weeks later I got a call from John Herdman telling me if I had scored against the U.S I would have been invited to the following camp. It BURNED me inside knowing I was the only player that day who put myself in the best position to score and didn’t cease the opportunity. He told me I wasn’t composed in the box and that he was going to look at other players for the following camp and to keep working hard. That was my last cap for my National Team. The business world is harsh sometimes, but that moment in my life is a continuous reminder for me that shit isn’t going to come easy and that if I want to be World Class I have to train World Class every day. When the time is right, I will represent my country again. Until then my priority is to continue playing professional soccer, improving every day and collecting my paychecks with a big smile.

2. Signing autographs at BMO field after our loss against The United States.

autos

I’ll never forget how supportive the fans were and how much their faces lit up after the game when we took pictures with them and signed some autographs. I love inspiring the younger generation by doing what I love. My mission in life is to continue to inspire and set a good example for those who aspire to do what I am doing one day.

3. Leaving The Ohio State University as the Top Goal Scorer

important screenshot

I created a Photoshop image April 09, 2012 about four months before season started, sharing with the world my goal for the year. I didn’t want anything else more than to leave my school as the top goal scorer. I thought I needed 20 goals in one season, but it turned out I only needed 19 more. I ended up finishing the season with 21 goals. How did I do this? I set my mind to it, visualized it and had the mentality every day that I needed to bust my ass in order to achieve it. You won’t get what you want in this world if you take days off. Remember that.

4. Being the first Big Ten team to ever make it to the Final Four.

1547This was an amazing experience and season. We ended the inaugural season as the Big Ten Champions and made it all the way to the College Cup Final Four. In the picture above we were riding like bosses in our own charter plane.  Unfortunately, we lost against Notre Dame 0-1 in the semi finals, but we got over it because we made Big Ten history. Lets go! What an amazing group of girls that I had the privilege to get to know during my four years attending The Ohio State University.

5. My first experience participating in the UEFA Champions League tournament with Apollon Ladies FC.

fresh 4

These group of girls were amazing and we won 2/3 of our games in the tournament. I left the team as the top goal scorer with 3 goals, but we got eliminated from the tournament after losing against Stjarnan 0-2. We needed at least a tie or a win to advance to the round of 32, but were unable to get these results. All in all, it was an amazing experience and helped build up my soccer resume.

6. Signing my first professional contract with Seattle Reign FC in the NWSL On February 6, 2013.

I worked my ass off in college both on and off the field and it paid off. I was fortunate to play with some of the best players in the world and play in arguably the best league in the world alongside of the German Bundesliga. This was a moment that meant so much to me because I didn’t have an agent representing me. I was my own agent and I took the time to reach out to other teams and talk my way into a contract. You won’t get anywhere in life if you sit back and wait for things to happen. Know your worth and go get yours!

7. Getting waived as a professional athlete for the first time on June 19, 2013.

Seattle ReignFC

Although I was a starter for quite a while, our team was not getting the results we needed. Sure we had Hope Solo, Jessica Fishlock, Kaylyn Kyle and plenty more talented and well known players, but we were literally the worst team in the league at the time. We didn’t have team chemistry and as a result a few players including myself got either waived or traded. I’ll never forget having a conversation with my former coach, Laura Harvey before she released me. She told me that I had a lot of talent, but not enough experience and that they needed players with more experience to turn the season around. She also recommended that I play overseas for a few years to gain more experience and come back to play in the NWSL when I think the time is right. It hurt, but business is business. If you aren’t getting results, things have to change. I was fortunate that same week to get picked up by FC Kansas City which was ranked number 1 in the league at the time. Although I didn’t play much there, I was training every day with some of the best in the world. When one door closes, another one opens!

kansasssss

8. My first goal as a professional athlete!

tiffs goal

March 2014

There’s no other place I would have rather scored my first goal as a professional athlete than in the Bundesliga in Germany. The best league in the world, alongside of the NWSL. This moment meant a lot to me because prior to it I was out for a month due to an ankle injury.  Ja Deutschlanddddddddd!!

9. My first start for Canada against England on April 7, 2013.

canada1

This was hands down the best game I ever played for Canada. We unfortunately lost 0-1, but both teams played well. Tough loss, but a moment I will definitely never forget. This was my fifth cap for the Canadian Women’s National Team.
10. Participating in the first U-17 Women’s World Cup in New Zealand in 2008.
013
Our team made it to the quarterfinals and lost against Germany 1-3. I managed to walk away with an assist that game, but unfortunately the Germans were too much for us. It was an amazing experience that I will never forget and the friendships that I built just by being a part of this squad were amazing!
Below is a song I wrote and recorded in 2013 after I completed my first year as a professional athlete. Though my journey has been filled with both good and bad, I’m still pushing to be something great! Stay tuned for next week’s blog post!
Leave a Reply

