Every week is another adventure!

I want to take this time to encourage anyone out there that may not be where they want to be in life, to keep pushing. Things don’t always work out according to plan, but that’s the joy of life. Don’t think about where you should be, accept where you are. Embrace opportunities with open arms and continue to do what you love. The best feeling in life is when you stop thinking so much and just DO YOU.  That’s where the fun begins!

IMG_4292

This week was quite eventful. I went to Jerusalem with my manager, her brother and his friends to watch our men’s second team play. They ended up winning in penalty shootouts and advancing to the semifinals of a tournament down here that I can’t pronounce nor write. For those of you who don’t know, there has been a lot of ongoing violence in Jerusalem and right now it isn’t the safest place to live or tour. We still made light of the situation and made a running joke that I had my Israeli bodyguards for the day. I’ve definitely never felt so safe in my life, but given the circumstances it was necessary.

IMG_4421

Last week the Israeli Women’s National Team played two friendly games. They tied their first match against Kazakhstan 0-0, and lost their second match against Austria 1-0. It was nice to watch some of my teammates in action and I am definitely looking forward to playing with them when our season starts in two weeks.

https://www.facebook.com/IsraelFootballAssociation/photos/pb.167135843321365.-2207520000.1445880283./1055439711157636/?type=3&theater

One of the biggest advantages of traveling around the world is learning about different cultures and traditions. Last week I was invited by my team manager to celebrate “Kiddush,” which is a Friday night Jewish dinner. Before eating, everyone gathers around the table holding hands and the food and wine is blessed. After it is blessed, either wine or grape juice is passed around the table to honour the Shabbat and other Jewish holidays. For those of you who don’t know what the Shabbat is, it is considered a day of rest where Jews remember the Biblical creation of heaven and Earth. We were also fortunate to celebrate my team manager’s daughter’s first birthday. Below is a picture of myself, Emeka (one of the foreigners on our men’s 2nd team), and the birthday girl.

IMG_4439

Lastly, two days ago I was woken up to thunder and a ton of rain. I looked outside to see this lovely flood outside of my apartment. Yes, half of the road pretty much turned into a flowing river. To see a live video, click on the link below which will lead you to the video footage I captured on my Instagram page. The flood fortunately cleared up after an hour or so. Unfortunately I was left without electricity and Internet for an entire day, but when Mother Nature strikes, she doesn’t give a damn.

Ramat Hasharon

Ramat Hasharon

https://instagram.com/tiffany_cameron11/

Stay tuned for next week’s blog post where I will be only one week away from my first league game here in Israel!

Leave a Reply

