Qualifying rounds for UEFA start tomorrow! Go Apollon Ladies!

Extremely happy and proud to say that I’m the first Canadian to sign with Apollon Ladies FC. I’m not exactly putting on a CSA jersey at the moment, but I’m still representing my country. Time to make Canada proud!

edit 1

Training this week went well and I believe our team will do great in the group stages of Champions League. Our preseason was a success and we won 4 out of 5 of our games against different boys’ academy teams in Cyprus. Playing against boys is a good challenge in general because it helps create faster decision making on and off the ball. I finished my preseason with 9 goals and 3 assists, but know that this is only the beginning and it’s time to turn things up a couple notches.

Our first game is tomorrow at 19.00 EEST and noon ET against a team from Feroer Islands called Klaksvikar. Feel free to follow how my team does through the UEFA Women’s Champions League website.

squaddd

Let’s take a quick peek of some before and after pictures of our team kit for this upcoming tournament at the press conference I went to August 7th.

looks clean

fresh 4

me and tay

me and my coaches

Coach Valentinos, coach Andreas and I

IMG_3862

I have to take this time to remember one of my closest high school friends, Phillip Wedderburn who just recently passed away on August 8, 2015. He unfortunately was diagnosed with cancer 6 months ago and did the best he could to stay strong. He is in a better place now and my condolences go out to his family and friends.

IMG_3916

Phillip was one of my biggest supporters in music and he always encouraged me to follow my dreams playing soccer. Back in high school he used to send me instrumentals he thought I would sound good on and would critique my song creations. He was one of the most honest people I knew and for that I always respected him. He had a great sense of humour and always brought a smile to the faces of others. He will never be forgotten and will always have a place in my heart.

To end on a positive note, it is important that you always count your blessings. Health is the most important thing in life. All the money in the world doesn’t compare to it. The next time you complain about little things, remember that there are people out there who have lost a husband, a wife, a girlfriend, a sister, a brother, a boyfriend, an aunt, an uncle, a grandson, a grand daughter or a close friend. Be thankful for what you have and don’t waste your life thinking about what could have been. Take action now and do what makes you happy. How do you want to be remembered?

#15 because that was the last number I wore for Canada in 2013 against The United States. I will be back!

#15 because that was the last number I wore for Canada in 2013 against The United States. I will be back!

Leave a Reply

